Stravinsky: Petrouchka - Mravinsky

Stravinsky: Petrouchka - Mravinsky

Praga Digitals Reminiscences  PRD/DSD 350 113

Classical - Orchestral

Stravinsky: Petrouchka; Le Baiser de la Fee

Leningrad Philharmonic Orchestra
Yevgeny Mravinsky

Provocative and probably previously unreleased reunion of two scores which has been essential for the ballet music in the Paris of before and after World War I. The Russian conductor Evgeni Mravinsky, who stayed in his homeland but remained always impervious to any ukaz, either political or aesthetical, dared to present in a single evening these two scores, both with the same accuracy of interpretation: the exuberance of a street theatre in Saint Petersburg, his native city, and the stylishness of an ‘in Tchaïkovsky manner’ piece, where the Sleeping Beauty’s awakening becomes an ‘Icy Kiss’ . . . Impressive and without competition!

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the paid links below.
As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.

Add to your wish list | library


0 of 0 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no