Glazunov: Symphonies 4 & 5 - Mravinsky

Glazunov: Symphonies 4 & 5 - Mravinsky

Praga Digitals Reminiscences  PRD/DSD 350 129 (2 discs)


Classical - Orchestral

Glazunov: The Seasons (excerpts), Symphonies 4 & 5

Leningrad Philharmonic Orchestra
Yevgeny Mravinsky (conductor)

A tribute to Alexander Glazunov who turned post-Tchaikovsky Russian musicians into true professionals. He was a composer emeritus and helped raise the profile of classical symphonies and ballet music before and after the mighty Group of Five. Mravinsky insisted on performing pieces by this incredibly selfless pedagogue which slip into the category of Romanticism, although he preferred the 'banned' compositions of his students such as the 'obstreporous' young Stravinsky or the 'insufferably pretentious' Prokofiev.

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the paid links below.
As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.

Add to your wish list | library


0 of 1 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no