120 Years of Deutsche Grammophon - The Anniversary Edition

120 Years of Deutsche Grammophon - The Anniversary Edition

Deutsche Grammophon  4835268


Classical - Opera

Wagner: Der Ring des Nibelungen

Lili Chookasian, Regine Crespin, Helga Dernesch, Oralia Dominguez, Helen Donath, Gundula Janowitz, Catarina Ligendza, Christa Ludwig, Simone Mangelsdorff, Edda Moser, Anna Reynolds, Josephine Veasey, Helge Brilioth, Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Donald Grobe, Zoltan Kelemen, Robert Kerns, Karl Ridderbusch, Thomas Stewart, Gerhard Stolze, Martti Talvela, Jess Thomas, Jon Vickers
Chor der Deutschen Oper, Berlin
Berliner Philharmoniker
Herbert von Karajan (conductor)

The story of Deutsche Grammophon goes back as far as the birth of recording itself. Founded in June 1898, in Hanover its directors are Emile Berliner – inventor of both the disc and the player – and his brother Joseph. For 120 years as well as being home to the world’s greatest performers, the Yellow Label has been at the forefront of innovations in recording technology and in music experiences. This collection celebrates that heritage with a flagship boxed set of 120 CDs + 1 Bonus CD + 1 Blu-ray Audio disc illuminating 120 years of recording history, including many rare recordings released internationally for the first time and recordings newly digitized from historic shellac discs.

The history of recorded classical music is the history of Deutsche Grammophon; and since the label has always been at the leader in innovations and home to the world’s greatest performers it remains the future of classical music. Deutsche Grammophon is classical music!

By 1900, Berliner’s disc has eclipsed Edison’s cylinder as the industry standard. In 1910, DG marketed the earliest orchestral recording: the opening movement of Grieg’s Piano Concerto with Wilhelm Backhaus. By the time of Joseph Berliner’s death in 1928 and Emile’s the following year, DG’s annual production has reached nearly 10 million records, with the Hanover factory employing some 600 people.

In 1950 78-rpm records with up to nine minutes playing time per side were introduced, based on the DG invention of variable groove spacing, and the next year the company released its first 33-rpm long-playing records. In 1957, Deutsche Grammophon’s trademark “cartouche” is introduced. 1962 heralds the first stereo recording: the Beethoven Symphony Cycle with Karajan. DG produces the first digital recording in 1979 (Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto with Gidon Kremer and the Berliner Philharmoniker conducted by Lorin Maazel) and three years later sees the introduction of the CD and the first Deutsche Grammophon title in mass production: Richard Strauss’s Eine Alpensinfonie with the Berliner Philharmoniker conducted by Herbert von Karajan.

• 120 CDs telling the story of the Yellow Label, sub-divided by genre and including many recordings released internationally for the first time and recordings newly digitized from historic shellac discs
• 1 Bonus CD with brand-new unreleased recordings “The years to come” (including Daniil Trifonov)
• 1 Blu-ray Audio featuring the complete Ring des Nibelungen conducted by H. v. Karajan
• Each album presented in wallets with original sleeve art
• 200-page book
• Numerous photographs and facsimiles from the archives of Deutsche Grammophon
• Includes six postcards with legendary covers + 5 historic documents

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the paid links below.
As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.

Add to your wish list | library


1 of 1 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no

Analogue recording
Resolutions (1)
  • 2.0 LPCM 24bit/96kHz
Comments (1)

Comment by Galley - January 30, 2019 (1 of 1)

This includes the Ring Cycle BD-Audio disc in a cardboard sleeve. The track listing and recording details are included, but there is no libretto.