Vaughan Williams: Symphonies in F minor & No. 6 - Pappano

Vaughan Williams: Symphonies in F minor & No. 6 - Pappano

LSO Live  LSO0867

Stereo/Multichannel Hybrid

Classical - Orchestral

Vaughan Williams: Symphonies 4 & 6

London Symphony Orchestra
Sir Antonio Pappano (conductor)

Sir Antonio Pappano leads the London Symphony Orchestra in a pair of symphonies by Ralph Vaughan Williams that span the build-up and aftermath of the Second World War.

Throughout the Fourth Symphony Vaughan Williams channels tension and power through the music in amongst moments of light and clarity. It evokes a sense of hardship and persistence, perhaps suggesting the ever-present threat of war in the 1930s.

Written in 1947, the composer's Sixth Symphony also seems to reflect the hardships and devastation wrought by World War II. Melancholic in some movements, ferocious in others.

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the links provided below.
As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.


Add to your wish list | library


3 of 3 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no

Comments (2)

Comment by hiredfox - April 4, 2021 (1 of 2)

Welcome Sir Antonio Pappano as Chief Conductor of the LSO.

Comment by diw - April 5, 2021 (2 of 2)

A new RVW cycle would be nice. Listened to excerpts on Presto, sound seems warmer than other LSO's I remember.