Journey through a century - Park

Journey through a century - Park

BIS  BIS 2492

Stereo/Multichannel Hybrid

Classical - Instrumental

Max Reger: Prelude and Fugue in D minor, Op. 117 No. 6
Fritz Kreisler: Recitativo and Scherzo-Caprice, Op. 6
Eugéne Ysaÿe: Sonata in E major for solo violin, Op. 27 No. 6
Richard Strauss: Daphne-Etüde, AV 141
Sergei Prokofiev: Sonata in D major for solo violin, Op. 115
Mieczysław Weinberg: Sonata No. 2 for solo violin, Op. 92
Isang Yun: Königliches Thema
Alfred Schnittke: A Paganini (1982 - original version)
Krzysztof Penderecki: Capriccio

Sueye Park (violin)

For her third disc, the young Korean violinist Sueye Park has explored the repertoire for solo violin, and chosen works spanning exactly 100 years - from Max Reger's Prelude and Fugue from 1909 to Penderecki's Capriccio, composed in 2008. Framing the 20th century, the program starts as a relay race of famous violinist-composers; Reger dedicating his piece to Kreisier, who dedicated his Recitativo and Scherzo-Caprice to Ysaye, who wrote his Sonata No. 6 for the Spanish virtuoso Manuel Quiroga „In this series of names, that of Richard Strauss may come as a surprise, but his little-known Daphne-Etude from 1945 is also dedicated to a violinist - his young grandson.

The journey now turns eastwards with two solo sonatas, by Prokofiev and Weinberg, that were both composed in Moscow, albeit 20 years apart. These are followed by Isang Yun's 'Royal Theme'. The Korean-born composer uses the theme from Bach's Musical Offering, but takes it on 'a walk through the Asian tradition' in the course of seven variations. In A Paganini, Alfred Schnittke revisits another colleague from the past - and one closely associated with the violin. Finally bringing us into the 21st century is Penderecki, whose early training as a violinist stood him in good stead when he composed his virtuosic Capriccio.

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the links provided below.
As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.

Add to your wish list | library


Not yet released