Horneman: Aladdin - Schönwandt

Horneman: Aladdin - Schönwandt

Dacapo Records  6.200007 (3 discs)

Stereo/Multichannel Hybrid

Classical - Opera

Horneman: Aladdin

Bror Magnus Tødenes (Aladin)
Dénise Beck (Gulnare)
Stephen Milling (The Sultan)
Henning von Schulman (The Vizier)
Hanne Fischer (Morgiane)
Steffen Bruun (The Genie of the Lamp)
Elisabeth Jansson (The Genie of the Ring)
Frederikke Kampmann (The first Handmaiden)
Sidsel Aja Eriksen (The second Handmaiden)
Klaudia Kidon (The first Elf)
Rikke Lender (The second Elf)
Jakob Soelberg (The Messenger)
Danish National Concert Choir
Danish National Symphony Orchestra
Michael Schönwandt (conductor)

Aladdin's story, taken from the Arabian One Thousand and One Nights, has been told many times and in many different ways. This operatic version by the Danish composer, C.F.E. Horneman, dates from the turn of the 19th to the 20th century and has the lush harmonies and flowing melodies you might expect from a piece of its time. Horneman adds new lustre to the old fairy tale about Aladdin and Princess Gulnare as they escape the forces of nocturnal magic and pursue happiness.

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the links provided below.
As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.


Add to your wish list | library


0 of 0 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no