The Rolling Stones: Aftermath (UK)

The Rolling Stones: Aftermath (UK)

ABKCO  882 295-2

Stereo Hybrid


"Aftermath (UK)"

The Rolling Stones

A milestone in the recording career of the band in that Jagger/Richards wrote every single track on this their fourth studio album to be released in Britain.

It’s arguably the first ever ‘rock’ album. The credentials? At over eleven minutes, “Going Home” was one of the longest track ever to have appeared on any pop album, the tracks were recorded at two three day marathon sessions at RCA in Hollywood in December 1965 and March 1966, its fourteen tracks ran for over 53 minutes – long by the standards of pop LPs – and most of all – it ‘sounds’ like a rock album with a cohesion not associated with other long playing records from the era.

Among the ‘classic’ songs are “Mother’s Little Helper” – the a-side of the twelfth US single, and its b-side “Lady Jane”, “Under my Thumb” and “Out of Time”. Jack Nitzsche and Ian Stewart share the keyboard duties and Brian Jones plays a whole variety of instruments including an Appalachian dulcimer on “Lady Jane”.

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the links provided below.
As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.

Add to your wish list | library


12 of 13 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no

Analogue recording
1. Mother's Little Helper
2. Stupid Girl
3. Lady Jane
4. Under My Thumb
5. Doncha Bother Me
6. Going Home
7. Flight 505
8. High and Dry
9. Out of Time
10. It's Not Easy
11. I Am Waiting
12. Take It or Leave It
13. Think
14. What to Do