Donaueschinger Musiktage 2006 Vol. 4

Donaueschinger Musiktage 2006 Vol. 4

Neos Classics  NEOS 10727

Stereo/Multichannel Hybrid


Mauricio Kagel: Divertimento?, Alberto Posadas: Anamorfosis

Schönberg Ensemble Amsterdam
Reinbert de Leeuw (conductor)

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the paid links below.
As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.


Add to your wish list | library


1 of 1 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no

Reviews (1)

Review by John Broggio - May 5, 2008

For the last of the Neos' offerings taken from Donaueschinger Mustiktage 2006, we encounter some world class artists in this field (as in their opening volume but on a larger scale).

The two works on offer here couldn't be more different: Mauricio Kagel's "Divertimento? (Farce for ensemble)" and Alberto Posadas' Anamorfosis. Both were taped at the world première's that they recieved, with the audience clearly audible during the Kagel.

Under Reinbert de Leeuw's expert direction, the Schönberg Ensemble Amsterdam make light work - or should that just be light? - of the complexities in the score. As noted by Kagel himself, the work requires "a series of actions that, ordinarily, are strictly avoided in a performance." I won't outline them in detail to spoil the surprises but they are well thought out and equally as well executed. Great fun all round!

The companion piece is not altogether as successful but it is probably best to consider this as an experiment from Posadas. Hopefully he will return to the work or apply the stimulus behind it in a more convincing manner later in life. As he notes himself, his works are derived from external influences such as mathematics and architecture. Here, the mathematics of logarithms and combinatorial analysis are given life in sound. The result of such intellectual thoughts are frequently not emotionally inspiring but there are many moments when a glimpse of "what could be" sneaks into earshot. Again, de Leeuw inspires committed and devoted playing from the Amsterdam ensemble.

The sound is excellent, with audience applause and laughter (during the Kagel only) captured with a great sense of naturalness in MCH - a good seat in the hall is where the listener is placed. The sound stage is also wide and deep (most obviously so in the Kagel). All in all, a triumph in almost every respect!

Highly recommended.

Copyright © 2008 John Broggio and


Sonics (Multichannel):

stars stars