Berlioz: Benvenuto Cellini - Davis

Berlioz: Benvenuto Cellini - Davis

LSO Live  LSO0623 (2 discs)

Stereo/Multichannel Hybrid

Classical - Opera

Berlioz: Benvenuto Cellini

Gregory Kunde (Cellini)
Laura Claycomb (Teresa)
Darren Jeffery (Balducci)
Andrew Kennedy (Francesco)
Isabelle Cals (Ascanio)
John Relyea (Pope Clement VII)
Peter Coleman-Wright (Fieramosca)
Jacques Imbrailo (Pompeo)
Andrew Foster-Williams (Bernardino)
Alasdair Elliot (Cabaretier)
London Symphony Chorus
London Symphony Orchestra
Sir Colin Davis (conductor)

Berlioz’s flamboyant opera Benvenuto Cellini is inspired by the life of the legendary Florentine goldsmith and Renaissance figure. Its first performances in Paris during 1838-39 were disastrous as it proved too great a challenge for the musicians of the day. Yet even by Berlioz’s high standards it contains music of exceptional inventiveness and beauty.

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the paid links below.
As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.

Add to your wish list | library


6 of 8 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no