Nat King Cole: Love is the Thing

Nat King Cole: Love is the Thing

Analogue Productions  CAPP 824 SA

Stereo/Multichannel Hybrid


Nat "King" Cole

All tracks except 5 and 6 playable as Mono, Stereo or Multichannel. Tracks 5 and 6 are Mono only and are not included on the Multichannel layer.

Analogue Productions' Blue Note and Nat "King" Cole Reissues WIN A Positive Feedback 2010 Brutus Award!

This has been a totally no-expenses-spared project. Using the original three-track work tapes from Capitol's vaults, mastering engineers Kevin Gray and Steve Hoffman along with DSD specialist Gus Skinas bring you an entirely incomparable SACD experience. In addition to the stereo mixes, this SACD includes a three-track transfer for multichannel playback and the original mono mix taken from separate microphone feeds, mixing consoles and tape machines at the original sessions. In order to master from the three-track masters, AcousTech had to be outfitted for three-channel playback. That meant Kevin Gray had to find a third identical monitoring channel chain (including mixing board, amplifier and speaker) as well as a three-track playback headstack and also a three-track preview head for the vinyl cutting system. It was a massive assignment. We've spent a fortune to include these extra bells and whistles and to make this a truly historic reissue.

Love is the theme for twelve ballads of heavenly strings orchestrated by the distinctive Gordon Jenkins, sympathetically backing the intimately expressive and supremely musical voice of the incomparable Nat "King" Cole. Featuring such legendary classics as "Stardust" and "When I Fall In Love," this album topped the charts upon its release, is among its era's finest, most stylistically defining recordings of popular music and continues to enchant listeners to this day.

Love Is The Thing was recorded in finely polished monaural and more minimalistic 3-channel stereophonic versions, each with dedicated microphones, console, mix and recorders. Each offers a different sonic perspective. The monaural recording was heard on the original hit records while the stereophonic recording offers the potential for a stunning wide-range realism. Using the original first generation full-track mono and 3-track session tapes from Capitol's vaults and custom headstacks, console and monitoring chain installed at AcousTech specially for these releases, mastering engineers Kevin Gray and Steve Hoffman along with DSD specialist Gus Skinas bring you an entirely incomparable SACD experience.

For this deluxe hybrid SACD, both mono and stereo versions are available in standard resolution on the CD layer and high resolution on the DSD stereo layer, while the stereo versions are also available in 3-channel high resolution on the DSD multi-channel layer. In addition a 2,800-word essay by Chris Hall about the album is included. No expense was spared to make this the ultimate digital version of this album and a truly historic reissue.

Originally released in 1957.

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors:

Add to your wish list | library


25 of 25 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no

Analogue recording
1. When I Fall In Love
2. Stardust
3. Stay As Sweet As You Are
4. Where Can I Go Without You?
5. Maybe It’s Because I Love You Too Much (mono only)
6. Love Letters (mono only)
7. Ain’t Misbehavin’
8. I Thought About Marie (studio chatter, false start on 45 RPM LP only)
9. At Last
10. It’s All In The Game
11. When Sunny Gets Blue
12. Love Is The Thing
Comments (3)

Comment by Bart Lambert - May 27, 2020 (1 of 3)

The three-channel version really is added value!

Comment by philip edwards - June 3, 2020 (2 of 3)

I agree with Bart Lambert that the centre channel adds a great deal of stability to Nat’s voice. I loved all of these Analogue Productions releases in 3 channel. The stereo layer is flat in comparison. I was disappointed that Mobile Fidelity released some stereo Sinatra albums in only 2 channel, from 3- channel tapes.

Comment by john hunter - June 7, 2020 (3 of 3)

And that's why I did not buy those Sinatra discs nor some of the RCA Living Presence series.