Schoenberg: Scherzo, Presto, Chamber Symphony, String Quartet No. 3

Schoenberg: Scherzo, Presto, Chamber Symphony, String Quartet No. 3

Praga Digitals  PRD/DSD 250 278

Stereo/Multichannel Hybrid

Classical - Chamber

Schoenberg: Scherzo, Presto, Chamber Symphony Op. 9 (trans. Webern), String Quartet No. 3 Op. 30

Prazak Quartet
Jaromir Klepac (piano)

The fifth volume devoted to Schönberg’s chamber music. On display here is writing that, after being based on traditional models (youthful Scherzo and Presto), evolves towards a melodic density and clarity of counterpoint making the Chamber Symphony, Op.9 (1906) accomplished and radiant as much in its chamber transcriptions as in the versions for full orchestra. The Quartet No.3 (1926) achieves a masterful balance between rhythm and harmony, melody and counterpoint, horizontality and verticality. All these processes blend in an original art of the continuous variation. By blurring the formal aspect, the PRAŽÁKs make him the heir of other Viennese: Haydn, Mozart, Schubert, Brahms… and Beethoven.

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the links provided below.
As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.

Add to your wish list | library


5 of 5 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no