Bach: Cantatas through the Liturgical Year, Vol. 13 - Kuijken

Bach: Cantatas through the Liturgical Year, Vol. 13 - Kuijken

Accent  ACC 25313

Stereo/Multichannel Hybrid

Classical - Vocal

Bach: Easter Oratorio BWV 249, Cantata "Bleib bei uns, denn es will abend werden" BWV 6

Yeree Suh (soprano)
Petra Noskaiová (alto)
Christoph Genz (tenor)
Jan Van der Crabben (bass)
La Petite Bande
Sigiswald Kuijken (conductor)

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the paid links below.
As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.


Add to your wish list | library


1 of 2 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no

Reviews (1)

Review by John Broggio - August 5, 2011

This volume has works for Easter Sunday ("Easter Oratorio") and Easter Monday ("Bleib bei uns, denn es will Abend werden" BWV 6) and marks the first truly "large-scale" work that these forces have tackled.

The disc opens with the Easter Oratorio and - compared to Bach: Easter & Ascension Oratorios - Suzuki and Bach: Easter Oratorio, Ascension Oratorio - Halls - the string forces are very much smaller (naturally, so are the vocal forces). Sadly, there is no way of covering up that the trumpeters for Kuijken are not the equal (or in fact close) to those of Halls or Suzuki, even with arguably more favourable tempo choices allowing them more time to get around the notes. Because of these allowances, even though the vocal contribution of Yeree Seh (soprano), Petra Noskaiova (alto), Christoph Genz (tenor), Jan Van der Crabben (bass) is their customary superb level of dedication, they cannot lift the dragging music to its feet; even the extra clarity cannot redeem this enough to recommend this issue alongside Halls or Suzuki's far more enjoyable accounts. This is worship in penitance not celebration.

BWV 6 marks a welcome return to form for the orchestra and Kuijken's sureness of direction but even the sound is acceptable for most ears, this is not enough to recommend the disc beyond all but those committed to purchase the entire 20 volumes.

Copyright © 2011 John Broggio and


Sonics (Multichannel):

stars stars