Ravel: Complete Orchestral Works, Vol. 2 - Slatkin

Ravel: Complete Orchestral Works, Vol. 2 - Slatkin

Naxos  NBD0034


Classical - Orchestral

Ravel: Valses nobles et sentimentales (version for orchestra), Gaspard de la nuit (arr. M. Constant for orchestra), Le tombeau de Couperin (version for orchestra), La valse (version for orchestra)

Orchestre National de Lyon
Leonard Stakin (conductor)

Maurice Ravel’s Valses nobles et sentimentales present a vivid mixture of atmospheric impressionism, intense expression and modernist wit, his fascination with the waltz further explored in La valse, a mysterious evocation of a vanished imperial epoch. Heard here in an orchestration by Marius Constant, Gaspard de la nuit is Ravel’s response to the other-worldly poems of Aloysius Bertrand, and the dance suite Le tombeau de Couperin is a tribute to friends who fell in the war of 1914–18 as well as a great 18th century musical forbear.

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the paid links below.
As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.

Add to your wish list | library


6 of 8 recommend this, would you recommend it?  yes | no